Nopps (1979) – Allan Flynn

I had such a good time putting together the Ralph Rooney card that I’ve wanted to do another for a while. I’ve been working on old League stats recently, and I came across this guy’s impressive career line. For as effective a closer as he is, and for as long as his track record is, he tends to get overlooked in the course of playing the actual games.

The card format is 1979 Topps–this was one of my peak card collecting years. I like the look of the back of these cards, but this year’s feature–baseball dates (I lowercased the “h” in “happened”; I loathe title case)–is lame. I took “dates” in a different direction than Topps did.

For some reason, I always envisioned Allan Flynn having a bit of a Roger Daltrey look. Now that’s canon, for what that’s worth.

I wanted to show a baserunner in the background of this drawing, and I arbitrarily made it a Rapid City Raider. But then my OCD kicked in, and I wanted to see if I could make this a “shot” from an “actual” game. So I pulled the results from the most recent season (1991) and looked to see if there was a game where (1) Rapid City played at Tucson (Flynn is in his home jersey), (2) Flynn pitched, and (3) there was a runner at first. Turns out there was. This runner could have been either Kelly Dreisner or Tony Dussell. If you were wondering, this is Dussell.

One thought on “Nopps (1979) – Allan Flynn”

  1. <

    div dir=”ltr”>I love these, even after you explained how you create the card backs. I of course had never heard of Flynn. Love the closer joke! Or, stated another way, “

    Like

Leave a comment