1986-10-30 – “A very Mischief Night breakfast”

cabbage_night
Move over, John Peter Zenger!

Yeah, I need to procrastinate right now, so time for another blog post!

In college, for one year, I was the staff cartoonist for the school paper, The Acorn. It was a good gig, but I didn’t know what I was doing, so most of the strips (well, they were single-panel comics more than strips) were pretty random and pointless.

This one may be my favorite. Unfortunately, it was also the only one that was censored. I don’t know if it was the paper’s editorial board or (more likely) a faculty advisor, but someone decided that publication of this comic might exacerbate the already notoriously…ebullient…Mischief Night “celebrations” that tended to happen on campus every October 30. I was disappointed that the cartoon was pulled, but—I won’t lie—I was also secretly pleased that someone was concerned that my cartoon might be a negative influence. That meant that someone thought anyone read my comic!

I do remember feeling relieved that I didn’t have to draw the background, which would have been a huge pain in the ass. The characters (that’s me on the left) are at the Madison, New Jersey A&P (remember A&P?).

Dig the old-school cash register! (At the time, we just referred to them as “cash registers”).

The “Down with ABM” note on the cashier’s bulletin board was a mocking nod to the anti-Anything But Monday fever that was at that time sweeping Drew’s campus. Anything But Monday was an underground humor magazine put out by a couple of my classmates. It was irreverent and tasteless. And therefore often hilarious.

Finally, I remember being disdainful of Mischief Night. I grew up calling it by its correct name, Cabbage Night.

Leave a Reply

