1991-11-18 – “Bil Keane saved my life!”

(1991-11-18) bil keane saved my life!
Whither, Barfy and Sam?

Hard to believe it took me this long to get Celia into the strip. Whatever heart and soul the BIOSIS fourth floor had, Celia was largely responsible for. I still fondly remember her clever holiday contests* and her plant- and vine-overgrown cubicle.

Anyway, Celia was (and still is, I imagine) an incredibly talented artist, and I don’t think she was favorably disposed toward my amateurish scrawlings. At least, I took the Family Circus comparison as an insult (I mean–come on–little Billy? Please.).

Cartoon plus: I like the attempt at putting myself in shadows in the second panel. And the “Not Me” punishment fits the crime.

Cartoon minus: Celia was not two thirds torso as I have drawn her here. Also, I shouldn’t have drawn the Reid Fleming, World’s Toughest Milkman poster in such detail in the last panel. It makes for too busy a background. But I did love that poster.

It occurs to me that, back in 1991, I wouldn’t have had access to the Interwebs to look up what the idiotic Not Me gremlin looked like. Not being an aficionado of Family Circus, I’m not sure how I would have figured that out enough to draw it (I’ll give myself the benefit of the doubt and assume that the Not Me here looks somewhat like Bil Keane’s original). Only thing I can think of is that I probably hoofed it over to Borders on Chestnut Street (or was it Walnut? I can never remember, despite walking across them every day for 10 years) to look through Family Circus paperbacks. (Shudder!).

*One Valentine’s Day, Celia ran a “Limericks of Love” contest, where participants were tasked with composing bawdy limericks. The challenge was that the limericks had to incorporate random, decidedly limerick-unfriendly words: the ones I drew were “orange” and “meniscus.”

Leave a Reply

